Policy Taskforce

Canberra business leaders addressing the economic development issues of today and tomorrow.

Canberra Business Chamber leads the discussion on the issues that impact business and the ACT economy, now and into the future  

The Chamber’s Policy Taskforce brings together ten industry leaders to advise and support us on key issues. They help us develop and implement long-term plans for a vibrant future. Taskforce members play an important role in the development of policies which, in turn, become the driving force behind the policy agenda.

Taskforce members are invited to join by the chamber board, based on their business leadership, influence, experience and connections to the broader community. 

Members are appointed by the Chamber board and operate under terms of reference approved by the board. 

Members come from a range of industry sectors, large and small businesses, and a diversity of different backgrounds.

Current members include:

Craig Sloan

Professional Services

Currently partner at KPMG

Chair of Canberra Institute of Technology (since 2015)

Chair, CIT Solutions

Director of TAFE Directors Australia

President of Hockey ACT. 

Dr. Michael Schaper

Business Advisory

Chair, University of Canberra Business School advisory board

Chair, ATO’s Shadow Economy Advisory Forum

Former CEO, Canberra Business Chamber

Former Deputy Chairman, Australian Competition & Consumer Commission

Gai Brodtmann


Former federal MHR for Canberra 2010-2019 and  Shadow Assistant Minister for Cyber Security and Defence

Currently board member, Museum of Australian Democracy

Council member, Australian Strategic Policy Institute

Futures Council member, National Security College

Advisory board member,
Sapien Cyber

Chris Faulks

Education and Business

Currently Deputy Chancellor of the University of Canberra (since 2017)

Current board member of National Capital Authority (since 2014)

Previously CEO of Canberra Business Council (2007-15)

Athol Chalmers 

NFPs and Associations

Currently President of Canberra Highland Society & Burns Club

President of Canberra Community Clubs 

Michael Brennan

Law and Professional Services

Currently managing partner at Minter Ellison Canberra

Liesel Wett 

Health and Aged Care

Currently chair of Goodwin Aged Care and CEO of Pathology Australia (both since 2014)

National director of AICD
(since 2015)

Stephen Parker


Former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Canberra (2007-16)

Currently Global Lead, Education and Skills, KPMG