Public holidays for 2018

Introduction of Reconciliation Day Public Holiday

The ACT Government has announced the introduction of Australia’s first Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Public holiday to be held in the ACT. Reconciliation Day Public Holiday will be recognised on the 28 May 2018 in the ACT, and will continue to fall on the first Monday on or after 27 May which is the anniversary date of the 1976 referendum. Please note that the legislation removes Family and Community Day with effect from 2018.

A complete list of ACT Public Holidays in 2018 can be found below:

Date to be observed
Monday 1 January 2018
Friday 26 January 2018
Monday 12 March 2018
Friday 30 March 2018
Saturday 31 March 2018
Sunday 1 April 2018
Monday 2 April 2018
Wednesday 25 April 2018
Monday 28 May 2018
Monday 11 June 2018
Monday 1 October 2018
Tuesday 25 December 2018
Wednesday 26 December 2018
Public Holiday
New Year’s Day
Australia Day
Canberra Day
Good Friday
Easter Saturday
Easter Sunday
Easter Monday
ANZAC Day
Reconciliation Day
Queen’s Birthday
Labour Day
Christmas Day
Boxing Day

Payment of employees on Public Holidays

Employees (except casual employees) who normally work on a day the public holiday falls are entitled to be paid their base rate of pay for the ordinary hours they would have worked if they had not been away because of the public holiday.  The base rate of pay does not include:

  • Any incentive-based payments;
  • Bonuses;
  • Loadings;
  • Monetary allowances;
  • Overtime; or
  • Penalty rates.

Employees who work on a public holiday are entitled to receive at least their base rate of pay for all ordinary hours worked.  However, Modern Awards, Enterprise Agreements and other registered agreements can provide for entitlements for working on public holidays, which may include:

  • Penalty rates, e.g. double time and a half for all hours worked;
  • An extra day off or extra annual leave;
  • Minimum shift lengths on public holidays; and
  • Agreeing to substitute a public holiday for another day.

 

If members have any queries about public holidays, please don’t hesitate to contact the Workplace Relations Hotline on 1300 277 881 or wradvice@canberrabusiness.com

Leave a Reply